Back on the Ice: Starting Over part II

March 8, 2014 at 3:31 pm | Posted in ice skating, moves in the field, synchro, tests | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,
Me_Synchro 2013

Starting Block
Open Adult Synchro, ’13-’14

In the spring of last year, I blogged about “Starting Over” with skating, and I actually followed through and started skating more regularly….several months later. September through January, I competed with the DC EDGE Open Adult Synchronized Skating Team. The team didn’t place as well as we hoped in our division, but there’s always next year. It wasn’t my best season of skating (personally) for synchro. I felt like I could have done better. The experience made me realize that it’s time to return to private lessons.

So I started moves in the field lessons this month, and hope to test Juvenile moves this spring or summer. My goal is to continue testing (and not stop) until I pass Senior moves. I’m not putting a time limit on it, but I would like to pass two tests a year if possible. We’ll see. Right now, I’m taking a 30-minute lesson each week, and aim to skate two 45-60 minute practices between each lesson. I also want to start stretching twice a day, so I can become more flexible and regain my lovely spiral (which is really struggling right now).

I’m not taking lessons in freestyle skills right now. I haven’t decided what goals I want to accomplish with freestyle. At some point, I would like to at least test up to Adult Silver. I’m also toying around with the idea of possibly competing in adult competitions. Or, maybe I’ll just let synchro be my only competitive event. I don’t know…still thinking about it.

I will keep you posted on how things progress. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.